Swedish Society for Marine Sciences

Dyrssen award

På svenska

The Swedish Society for Marine Sciences (SHF) manages and appoints an annual winner of the Dyrssen Award. The award is given to the author of the best bachelor and master science theses in the marine field. The award was initiated by the SHF in honor of David Dyrssen (1922 - 2011), emeritus professor of analytical chemistry at the University of Gothenburg. As one of the founding members of the Swedish Society for Marine Sciences, he spent his career being an active proponent for the promotion of trans-disciplinary research for the marine sciences.

Nominate candidates for the Dyrssen award 2018

Bachelor and master science thesis in the marine field approved between July 1st 2017 and June 30th 2018 are eligible for the 2018 Dyrssen award. The project must be within a marine science discipline and be examined at a university in Sweden. Nominations can be sent to us by the student but it needs to include a nomination letter from the supervisor or the examiner. The nomination should include all the following,

  • The thesis as a pdf
  • Nomination letter from the supervisor or examiner
  • The nominee's full name and e-mail
  • University and department that approved the thesis
  • Name of supervisor or examiner and their e-mail address
  • Thesis level (bachelor or master)
The nomination should be sent to dyrssen(at)shf.se, you can also contact us at this e-mail with any questions regarding the Dyrssen awards.

The prizes are awarded in connection with the Society’s annual meeting in the fall of 2018.

The Dyrssen Award 2017

For the 2017 Dyrssen award, we received nominations for 6 bachelor and 9 master theses. The theses were assessed by the board and two external referees for significance, scientific quality, and presentation.

Together with the external referees, SHF has decided that the
2017 Dyrssen award for best master thesis goes to Gabriel West, for the thesis
“An independently dated 4200-yr palaeomagnetic secular variation record from the Chukchi Sea, Arctic Ocean”, from the Department of Geological Sciences at Stockholm University.
Motivation: Gabriel West contributed with a nice, clearly written and well-structured work where he developed a 4200-year paleosecular variation record for the Arctic Ocean. Dating sediment records from the Arctic Ocean has proven difficult, but with an increased understanding of how the Earth's magnetic field behaves around the poles, GabrielÕs work provide important knowledge to this field of research.
We would also like to give an
Honorable Mention to Ellika Faust’s master thesis, “Genetic homogeneity in a marine rocky shore fish”, a well executed study regarding the genetic population structure of the Corkwing wrasse in the Skagerrak/Kattegatt area.
The winner of the 2017 Dyrssen award for best bachelor thesis is Carl Tamario, for the thesis “Variation in embryonic salinity tolerance in two anadromous subpopulations of northern pike Esox lucius L.”, from the Department of Biology and Environmental Science at Linnaeus University.
Motivation: Does exposure to varying salinity lead to increased salinity tolerance in fish populations? Carl Tamario has addressed this question by studying the salinity tolerance of fry from two populations of northern pike that spawn in freshwater and periodically brackish water respectively. The experimental design, execution and results are clearly described, supported by informative diagrams. The potential shortcomings of the work and the robustness of the conclusions are critically assessed in the discussion section.

The winners of the 2017 Dyrssen awards are invited to present their work at the Swedish Marine Science Conference 2017, to be held at Tjärnö marine research station, Nov 29-Dec 1, and organized in collaboration with the Centre for Sea and Society at the University of Gothenburg.

The Dyrssen Award 2016

Competition for the 2016 Dyrssen award for the best master thesis was strong: 16 theses were nominated and several were of very high quality. The nominations were assessed for significance, scientific quality, and presentation, and the winner is Kristina von Schreeb’s thesis, “Mapping coastal biotopes and resource use in Zanzibar Tanzania”, from the Department of Ecology, Environment and Plant Sciences at Stockholm University. Kristina’s thesis is highly interesting and explores groundtruthing of satellite measurements in a developing country and the use of GIS as a support in developing marine spatial planning. The work was well presented and supported with relevant figures and tables.
We also want to give a special mention to Yasmin Bokhari’s thesis, “The palaeoceanography of Kattegat during the last deglaciation from benthic foraminiferal stable isotopes”. Yasmin’s thesis was also very well executed and of high scientific value. The Dyrssen award for best bachelor thesis goes to Ellika Faust’s bachelor thesis, “How the Pacific oyster came to Sweden - A population genetic analysis to determine the origin of Crassostrea gigas in Sweden” , from the Department for Biological and Environmental Sciences at the University of Gothenburg. Ellika presented a well-structured thesis about the genetics of oysters in Denmark, Sweden and Norway in several different populations. Invasive species are a known environmental problem and Ellika’s work contributes to an improved understanding of proliferation routes for a very common invasive species in Sweden.
The winners of the 2016 Dyrssen awards are invited to present their work at the Swedish Marine Science Conference 2017, to be held at Tjärnö marine research station, Nov 29-Dec 1, and organized in collaboration with the Centre for Sea and Society at the University of Gothenburg.

The Dyrssen Award 2015

The Dyrssen Award of 2015 was awarded for two levels of thesis; bachelor and master. In total, four bachelor and seven master theses from different Swedish universities were nominated for the price. We are pleased to confirm the overall high quality of the theses. For the 2015 price, we felt the need to split the price for best master’s thesis between Johannes Johansson and Johanna Stedt, who both received the same high evaluation score. Johannes’ work, about characterisation of cyanobacterial blooms in the Baltic Sea, provides important knowledge about efficient techniques for measuring and evaluating these reoccurring and increasing blooms. Johannas’ thesis, where she applied several different methods (e.g. “citizen science”) to map the occurrence of the only whale species abundant in Sweden, the porcupine, also provided new knowledge within the field and was very well written. The price for best bachelor thesis was awarded to Astrid Hylén for her work on nitrogen processes in the Baltic Sea.

Dyrssen award winners 2016 and 2017. From left to right Kristina von Schreeb (2016, master), Gabriel West (2017, master), Carl Tamario (2017, bachelor) and Ellika Faust (winner 2016, bachelor and special mention 2017, master). Photo: SHF